Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday #92

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine which spotlights highly anticipated upcoming releases.

Title: Eliza and Her Monsters
Series: None
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: May 30, 2017

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community, and has no desire to try.
Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea's biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.
With illustrations from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums and snippets of Wallace's fanfiction, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

Find Eliza and Her Monsters online

Why I'm waiting on Eliza and Her Monsters this Wednesday:  I'm a super fan of Fangirl and this book is being compared to it?  Okay, yes, say no more.  But seriously, this sounds so interesting and relatable, especially since so much of my life takes place online, too, because of this blog.  It'll be really cool to read about a character like this!

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?  Have you heard of this book yet?  I love the cover, it's just so gorgeous and colorful.  I'm hoping this one will be as amazing as it sounds.  Let me know what you're waiting for in the comments below!  


  1. Oooo, I remember seeing when the cover of this book was revealed! I thought the cover was odd but very neat. That's awesome that the book will have illustrations in addition to the story! I hope you enjoy this book when you get the chance to read it, Ashtyn. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    1. It definitely is unique cover! I'm really excited for the book, it sounds like it will be a fun and interesting read!

  2. Love the sound of this one, and I think the cover is adorable!

    1. Right?! The cover is so cute and colorful - I love it!


Imagination Designs
Images from StarCityDesigns