Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday #97

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine which spotlights highly anticipated upcoming releases.

Title: Romancing the Throne 
Series: None
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: May 30, 2017

Scandal, secrets, and heartbreak abound in this juicy, modern girl-meets-prince story—perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jennifer E. Smith.
For the first time ever, the Weston sisters are at the same boarding school. After an administration scandal at Libby’s all-girls school threatens her chances at a top university, she decides to join Charlotte at posh and picturesque Sussex Park. Social-climbing Charlotte considers it her sisterly duty to bring Libby into her circle: Britain’s young elites, glamorous teens who vacation in Hong Kong and the South of France and are just as comfortable at a polo match as they are at a party.
It’s a social circle that just so happens to include handsome seventeen-year-old Prince Edward, heir to Britain’s throne.
If there are any rules of sisterhood, “Don’t fall for the same guy” should be one of them. But sometimes chemistry—even love—grows where you least expect it. In the end, there may be a price to pay for romancing the throne...and more than one path to happily ever after.

Find Romancing the Throne online

Why I'm waiting on Romancing the Throne this Wednesday: I'm always a sucker for a story with a prince in it.  And two sisters falling for the same prince? Yeah, I'm sensing some tension and drama.  I'm really looking forward to this one, especially because it sound light and fun.  

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?  Have you read anything by this author before?  It's her first YA book so I'm excited to see how it goes! Let me know what you're waiting for in the comments below! 

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Top Ten Tuesday (Books I Liked Less Than Everyone Else!)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish in which we share out top ten lists relating to the bookish topic assigned that week.

This week's topic is...

Top Ten Books I Liked Less Than Everyone Else!

Oh boy, here goes nothing...

 

 
                                         
 

 

 
                             
I hope no one is too disappointed if one of their favorites is up here.  A few of them I really liked at the time that I first read it but not so much now.  Tastes definitely change, especially bookish tastes!  What are some books you didn't like as much as everyone else? Let me know in the comments below!

Monday, February 20, 2017

Review: Anything You Can Do

Title: Anything You Can Do
Series: None
Author: R.S. Grey 
Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary 
Publisher: Self Published
Publication Date: February 2, 2017 
Source: Bought

Lucas Thatcher has always been my enemy.
It’s been a decade since I’ve seen him, but our years on opposite coasts were less of a lasting peace and more of a temporary cease-fire. Now that we’re both back in our small town, I know Lucas expects the same old war, but I’ve changed since high school—and from the looks of it, so has he.
The arrogant boy who was my teenage rival is now a chiseled doctor armed with intimidating good looks. He is Lucas Thatcher 2.0, the new and improved version I’ll be competing with in the workplace instead of the schoolyard.
I’m not worried; I’m a doctor now too, board-certified and sexy in a white coat. It almost feels like winning will be too easy—until Lucas unveils a tactic neither of us has ever used before: sexual warfare.
The day he pushes me up against the wall and presses his lips to mine, I can’t help but wonder if he’s filling me with passion or poison. Every fleeting touch is perfect torture. With every stolen kiss, my walls crumble a little more. After all this time, Lucas knows exactly how to strip me of my defenses, but I’m in no hurry to surrender.
Knowing thy enemy has never felt so good.

Find Anything You Can Do online
Barnes & Noble | Amazon | Goodreads | Book Depository 
I'm really sad I didn't like this book more.  It had so much promise!  I've been on the look out for another good enemies-to-lovers story (ever since finishing The Hating Game) and have yet to find one that really stands out.  I thought this once could be it but everything about it just fell flat for me.  I didn't feel the chemistry between the main couple, their "war" felt more like petty antics between twelve year-olds, and the main character made me wish I could throw the book across the room.  Alas, I was reading it on my kindle.  

 Let's start with the main character, Daisy.  She's twenty-eight years old and a doctor.  Her dream has been to run her own practice.  Honestly though, I have no idea how she made it this far.  Not once throughout the entire book did we see her treat one patient competently.  Every single time she and her "enemy" Lucas go to see a patient, she lets this petty war between them get the better of her and makes the entire situation feel unprofessional and uncomfortable, for both the patient and the reader.  Seriously, Daisy felt more like she was thirteen than twenty-eight.  I can't understand her charm.  She didn't come off as nice or sweet.  She spent the majority of the book complaining, whining, and causing problems with Lucas.  

That's another problem I have with this.  The "war" between Daisy and Lucas felt completely one sided.  She was constantly trying to figure out ways to sabotage him while he seemed fine to me.  I think there was only one time throughout the book where he actively tried to mess her up?  Every other time he just seemed nice and actually kind of bland.  If I'm told I'm going to be reading an enemies to lovers story, I want to feel the tension between the two mains!

Everything emotion-wise felt really abrupt and out of nowhere.  I think this is probably due to the fact that there was no real build up to shift in feelings, at least not with Daisy.  One minutes she's like "I hate you!" and the next she's like "Hate is basically the same thing as love!"  It just wasn't at all believable to me.  There was no tension, no build up, no chemistry.  Though I will say, there were some funny lines and moments.  I just wish the actual concept had been better structured and executed.  

I don't know if I'll read many more books by this author.  None of them have really captured me like I had hoped they would.  While this book wasn't terrible, it was missing a lot of the things I adore from a hate-to-love story.  I wish we had more tension and build up between the characters.  If you're a fan of this author's other works, you would probably enjoy this one more than I did.  If you're interested in it, I'd suggest giving it a shot! For me, it just missed the mark. 

"Can you kill someone with a kiss? I think that’s what he’s doing—slaying me with his mouth." 

Two Teapots


Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday #96

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine which spotlights highly anticipated upcoming releases.

Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #3
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Fantasy
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's 
Publication Date: May 2, 2017

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.
Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.
As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.
In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

Find A Court of Wings and Ruin online

Why I'm waiting on A Court of Wings and Ruin this Wednesday: YOU GUYS, WE'RE SO CLOSE TO THIS RELEASE DATE.  I need this book.  I've needed it since I read the last sentence of the second book.  Seriously.  This is probably my favorite series at the moment.  I've reread A Court of Mist and Fury an embarrassingly amount of times.  I'm counting down the days until May 2!

Do you guys love this series?!  I'm so excited to finally read what happens next.  If you haven't read it, I highly recommend it.  The first book is good but the second book is AMAZING.  Anyways, what books are you guys waiting on this Wednesday? Let me know in the comments below!

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Review: Crooked Kingdom

Title: Crooked Kingdom
Series: Six of Crows #2
Author: Leigh Bardugo 
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy  
Publisher: Orion Children's Books
Publication Date: September 27, 2016
Source: Bought

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn't think they'd survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they're right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz's cunning and test the team's fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city's dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

Find Crooked Kingdom online
YOU GUYS.  I FINALLY FINISHED.  Oh my goodness, I feel like I've been reading this book for ages.  Or, at least since *ahem* October.  Yeah, it took me a long time to finish this one.  I don't even know why!  It was gorgeous and amazing and I loved it.  Maybe I was just subconsciously making it last longer because I didn't want to say goodbye to these characters.  I'm going to miss them so much!

 Easily my favorite part of this series has been the characters.  They are all just so amazing.  The six of them together are just magic.  And I love that they stand apart so well.  They hardly ever all get along and they are constantly butting heads but the relationships that form between them feel so strong and real.  They care for each other and watch each other's backs.  Even Kaz, Mr. Cold Hearted himself shows he cares in smaller, more subtle ways.  Kaz is amazing, by the way.  Basically any time he did anything, I was so shocked by the end result.  He also has an ace up his sleeve and I really appreciated the shock factor we got as a reader when the twists and turns in his plans were revealed.

The world that Leigh Bardugo has developed is amazing.  It's obviously well thought out.  She describes it and I feel like I'm standing in Ketterdam with the crew.  This is the kind of fantasy world that other writers study and learn from to create their own.  I know I'm taking notes.  The politics, language, religions, commerce, and city layout are all so vivid.  I could spend hours on hours in this world. 

I'm so sad to be leaving these characters but I'm really hoping we get to spend more time in this world.  There's so many other countries I'd love to explore and people I want to learn more about.  I'll happily read whatever Leigh Bardugo offers me in this world!

“We meet fear. We greet the unexpected visitor and listen to what he has to tell us. When fear arrives, something is about to happen.

Five Teapots


 
Imagination Designs
Images from StarCityDesigns